Summer plans (early)

     Yes, I’m posting early. I wasn’t quite clearheaded enough to start writing stories today, but I’m hoping to tomorrow, so I thought I’d get this out of the way. Besides, it makes it an easy list to reference when I’m seeing how much I’ve gotten done, and I am excited. I try not to make plans for my summers now that I’m not home-schooled, because I like being able to choose what I do, and not have my time all blocked off whether I like it or no. Which means I end up making lots of plans whether I like it or no, because of grown-ups and being (officially) grown-up, and then, because of time and me being (for practical purposes) not grown-up, half of them don’t get done.
Writing:
     My biggest writing project is thoroughly revising Of the North, with the goal of having it queryable by next year. I’m dreaming (only dreaming, at this point) of going to Realm Makers next year, with it ready to pitch. I started revision a while ago, but now I have a sort of deadline, and a bit of time to set aside to it, to concentrate on getting it done.
     This includes working out a major snag in the plot thanks to a plot twist which is otherwise a good thing, as well as incorporating a second point of view in a tricky sort of way.
     I’ll keep sending out, and hopefully finish sending out, a chapter a week of Wind Age to beta-readers.
     Possibly write a 20,000-word novella for the Rooglewood fairy-tale-retelling contest?
     One of these may end up being what I work on for July Camp NaNo, which I’d like to do.
SCA:
     Take out the gores in my green cyrtel and re-do them. (Started on May 5)
     Since I am now the possessor of two cream-coloured fitted sheets, both queen-size, I may make a new chemise. Or I may dye one and make a new cyrtel. I don’t know. I don’t need new clothes yet; the group’s got plenty of loaner garb for now; so they may just continue to take up room in the bin for another year.
Others:
     I’ll take an online class, required for graduation, so that I don’t have to take it this fall, so I can do Early Europe as an Independent Study (which is going to be lots of fun).
     Be part of a reading and discussion group with some other young folks, moderated (when necessary) by my dad
     Keep blogging, of course
Now, I think, I shall spend my evening working on garb. I’m not used to being at home all the time yet. I’m learning how nice it is all over again, like Manalive.
About Nolie Alcarturiel

Christian, student of Philosophy, writer, SCAdian. Crazy cat lady who likes to keep cats and birds at the same time, and who's too young to be called an old cat lady. Medievalist. Creative Writing major, Philosophy minor.
This entry was posted in Of the North, SCA, Wind Age, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer plans (early)

  1. Hope Ann says:

    I want to go to Realm Makers so bad. It depends where it is next year to see if I even have a chance. This year it is way too far, even if I did have the money.

    Like

    • I’m really hoping next year it’s close-ish to me. I don’t have the money, and two and a half hours a week tutoring doesn’t pay enough, but my advisor said I could probably get a grant from the area’s arts council, so I might try that. Or, you know, edit books or something.
      One disadvantage would be if I had to fly alone. The mere idea appalled Olivia, and she said she’d have to go with me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

