April wrap-up (late)

You might have noticed I didn’t post on Tuesday. I got done with finals and immediately got the cold. It started about a month ago, got Olivia, got my mother (still has her, in fact) and for some reason missed me and my dad, not catching me until I was free from school. So it knocked me out for a bit. The enforced rest may have been a good thing, though.

Writing:

I’m finally done with school! No more Writing Workshop for me! This summer I’ll get to write what I want to, without having to worry about deadlines! (Well, mostly. But that might be another post by itself.) But of course the writing workshop couldn’t go out nicely. No. I e-mailed the professor, to ask about his suggestion that I complained about, and he said things like “I can separate art from real life” and “my personal opinions about life, death, and human morality don’t affect my writing”. I didn’t reply, though I wanted to say either “Inconceivable!” or “I begin to feel that I am shut up in a madhouse.” I couldn’t choose, so I said both throughout the day.

For school I worked a bit on the American tourist story, which ended up not being a short story at all. As is usual with me when something declares its intention to be a novel, I told it to sit and wait until I have time for it.

Reading:

The tail end of the Norton Anthology of British Literature, for class. All modernist stuff. I’ve been reading a lot since Wednesday because the best things to get over a cold with are honey, tea, sleep and books, but this is May, not April.

SCA:

Spring Coronation! Which I have yet to post on the blog. I’ll do it, eventually. Hopefully before Fall Coronation. Also, the group is making huge leaps forward, but I can’t talk too much about them yet, I don’t think. I got to go to a meeting of it, for once. Olivia and I were handed-down some sheets, which are destined for garb. Although as there’s only so many smocks you need, when you have three cream-coloured sheets, probably one of them will change colour.

Life:

Holy Week and Easter. Services for which went off pretty well, even though some important choir members came down with colds about that time.

I survived school, though technically it didn’t end till May. Getting annoyed by various peoples’ politically-correct pronouns, and finally fed up enough with the whole thing to be seriously considering a post on why I’m not a feminist but I believe it’s okay to have active women characters all the same — only to find out that Kingdom Pen did a video about it already.

There were probably other things, but I don’t remember them. Right now I’m looking ahead more than back. My next post will probably be summer plans.

About Nolie Alcarturiel

Christian, student of Philosophy, writer, SCAdian. Crazy cat lady who likes to keep cats and birds at the same time, and who's too young to be called an old cat lady. Medievalist. Creative Writing major, Philosophy minor.
This entry was posted in Ordinary life, SCA, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

