More-or-less random things

First off: Surrexit!

Secondly, I will be posting the story from Coronation here eventually. Last week I happened to lose a day’s work, and my sister still has pictures to edit. I’ll split it up into several posts, though, having learned my lesson with SUN’s not to have a 14,000-word post and expect people to be able to read the thing. I’m still curtseying to people if I run into them without warning. The odd thing is, a couple of them have bowed back.

Thirdly, we have sickness in our house (and half our church for that matter), just a cold, but one that tends to knock people out for a day or two, and hang on for a week after that, making them sound bad with coughing and sneezing and blowing their noses. This could be a problem, as my father is scheduled to go into the Cities to defend his dissertation on the 28th, and there’s probably not time to reschedule if he’s sick. I have a lot of final projects to do starting about today: a paper contra theistic evolution to finish, due Friday; stuff from the writing workshop to revise and turn in again; a very large piece from the Creative Nonfiction workshop to extensively revise and turn in again; and two exams actually during finals week. So there’s that.

Fourthly, on Saturday while we were winding yarn, my sister and I made the acquaintance of a very interesting gentleman, who wants a home. I don’t know that I have a story for him yet (it’d have to be fantasy, of a kind a bit different from the ones I’ve got going already), and he doesn’t want a story all about him, just one he can be at home in. I’ve also been thinking about the Rooglewood contest (announcement in June, I think) and hoping I can do a good one for it. Perhaps it’s because it’s spring, and spring says Adventure and Magic of the light fairy-tale and fantasy kind.

By the way, reports of my death have been greatly exaggerated. I was busy writing last week, and figured that as it was Holy Week people had other things to do anyway.

But, fifthly, I got a lot of comments on Wind Age last week, despite not having sent out a chapter either. The slow pacing is finally starting to be a real problem, and I have to explain in a hundred words or less the answer to the question whether Catholicism is a thing in the seventh century yet, and work on adding to the front and back matter: a glossary, a list of characters, a dictionary, an Introduction containing everything anyone could possibly need to know about the sacred and secular history of the world and specifically Britain in the seventh century, and a note on baptism. I don’t think I’ll get to those until summer at the earliest.

Sixthly, this summer I’m taking an online class, much as I hate to violate my summer’s sanctity to non-school-related things. We’re also, hopefully, having a moot with people of various denominations, for the purpose of eating pizza and tearing each others’ worldviews apart, but that’s not determined yet. And I’m hoping to be able to write a good story for Rooglewood’s last-contest-for-the-foreseeable-future. Being a winner would be nice too.

Seventhly, my writing classes are starting to really annoy me, and I’m looking forward to their end, which is sad. But when the teacher of one says things like “Fiction is ultimately a what-if game” and “We read fiction to see other people’s troubles”, well, I have bones to pick with his presuppositions. And when a classmate in the other one says something to the effect of, “The idea that your bloodline shapes something of who you are is an outdated idea, and you call yourself a historian”, that bothers me and makes me want to give him a taste of my combined Italian and Irish temper. (Not that I did. And he kept on saying Eyetalian, which proves he isn’t.)

“And lastly,” said Peregrine, running out of fingers, “they are all excessively proper and extremely dull.” Hopefully this week I’ll be back to normal on posting and sending out chapters and that kind of thing.

About Nolie Alcarturiel

Christian, student of Philosophy, writer, SCAdian. Crazy cat lady who likes to keep cats and birds at the same time, and who's too young to be called an old cat lady. Medievalist. Creative Writing major, Philosophy minor.
This entry was posted in Ordinary life, SCA, Wind Age, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to More-or-less random things

  1. thegermangolux says:

    It would be a lot easier for people to remember that you do have an Irish/Italian temper if you had a name like Maria O’Toole, or something, rather than the name you do have, which is Greek and English.

    Incidentally, what’s this online course? Math, perhaps?

    Like

    • Well, “Sophia” is also Latin. The Romans borrowed a lot. I am not taking math. To graduate I need an LEP 400 class, and several are being offered this summer. I was thinking of taking one on memory, but then a teacher said I might be interested in his on “Conflict Resolution in the Middle East”.

      Like

      • thegermangolux says:

        “Sophia” is Latin, eh? Well, it’s all Greek to me.

        Like

      • Ha.
        The most common misspelling of my name is Sofia, which I don’t particularly care for, but don’t object to as much as to Sophie. Well, today I got comments on a story (in the Writing Workshop class, of course, where all the bad writing ideas go, not to die but to be carried on) today where the respondent spelled my name “Sohpia”. It wasn’t even an ESL student.

        Like

      • thegermangolux says:

        Ah, but who are you to judge good spelling? You should spell however your inner self dictates, and it will be right.

        My fingers shriveled up just typing that.

        Like

  2. Hope Ann says:

    Fiction is a what if game, indeed. It deals with ‘what ifs’ but it is so much more than that. It deals in experiments in living and shows the truth about right and wrong, about light and dark, about the beautiful and ugly. Good arguments can develop someone logically and good sermons can develop them spiritually. Good books ought to do both with the addition of developing the reader emotionally.

    Like

Leave a Reply

