March wrap-up post

This is not an April Fools (or international atheists’ day) post, just to be clear. I couldn’t think of a good one in time.

Reading:

Textbooks and classmates’ work. I did read The Ball and the Cross (by Chesterton, of course) when we went into the Cities, which was a refreshing change from modern stuff. I had forgotten how good it was until it came up in conversation, and then I had to go read it again, and it does not disappoint. One of the (many) drawbacks of reading mainly modern writing, and not very good writing at that (you’d be surprised how many college students don’t know how), is that you start to forget how good writing works. I tend to think in the style of whatever I’ve been most reading lately, which is annoying when that’s bad writing. For a Literature paper I’ve been reading some Hopkins poetry, and now I’m thinking in alliteration more than usual.

“Oh — Nominalism,” said MacIan wearily. “We had all that out in the twelfth century.” (The Ball and the Cross)

Writing:

Things for school. The final assignments for the Writing Workshop are to be fiction — finally!— but modern and realistic. (One of the parts of one assignments was a prompt: eggs.) Well, if he wants modern and realistic he’ll get modern and realistic, but he’ll have to put up with stories involving home-schooled kids and large families with classical educations, because those just so happen to be the mostly modern and more-or-less realistic stories I’ve got going on.

Also a paper on theistic evolution, the final project for the Philosophy of Religion class. It may get long.

SCA:

We’re hoping to go to Spring Coronation next week. If so, I won’t make the mistake of posting the entire story all at once. I’ll do it in segments. So far Olivia has not decided to make a new bliaut at the last minute. . .

Life:

Last Sunday I brought my sister to a music competition, where she got second place. On Wednesday was a concert I brought her to. On Saturday we all went to St Paul’s Cathedral in the Cities for another concert she was in. Now I’d like a month or two that doesn’t involve crowds of strangers.

Other than the usual unpredictable March weather, the month was quiet overall, except last week. Since Easter comes this month, I doubt this one will be all that quiet. Which reminds me, Olivia and I should really practice our neglected choir pieces. Easter is three weeks away and the choir as a whole has practiced all of twice, I believe.

About Nolie Alcarturiel

Christian, student of Philosophy, writer, SCAdian. Crazy cat lady who likes to keep cats and birds at the same time, and who's too young to be called an old cat lady. Medievalist. Creative Writing major, Philosophy minor.
This entry was posted in Ordinary life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

